Day 161: Notebook Quizzes

Screen shot 2014-05-14 at 8.45.54 AM

We rarely use the textbook (except to prop up ramps, etc) so most of my classes depend on the students keeping an organized notebook. I punch the holes and we number the pages and all keep a table of contents. It actually makes my life and theirs a lot easier. “Mr. Whiteley, what is the ellipse homework?” “Page 57,” I reply. I always hated collecting notebooks and trying to score/grade them so now I give one notebook quiz each marking period and try to time it in such a way that it serves as a review for a summative assessment that follows. As always I have to sprinkled cartoons around the quiz that relate to the questions.

Leave a Reply

